What are the 5 types of paralysis?


There are many different types of paralysis, and the categorization can vary depending on the source. However, one common way to categorize paralysis is based on the area of the body affected. Here are five types of paralysis based on this categorization:

  1. Monoplegia: This type of paralysis affects only one limb or part of the body. For example, a person with monoplegia may have paralysis in one arm or one leg.
  2. Hemiplegia: Hemiplegia affects one side of the body, typically the arm, leg, and face. It may be caused by a stroke or other brain injury.
  3. Paraplegia: Paraplegia affects the lower half of the body, including both legs. It is often caused by a spinal cord injury.
  4. Tetraplegia (also known as quadriplegia): Tetraplegia affects all four limbs and the torso. It is usually caused by a spinal cord injury in the neck.
  5. Pseudoparalysis: This is not a true paralysis, but rather a term used to describe weakness or immobility caused by pain, anxiety, or other psychological factors. It can be difficult to diagnose and treat because there is no physical damage causing the symptoms.

Your feedback is important to us.